The University of Chicago | Graduate Admissions

Divisions & Schools

Through the University's graduate divisions and professional schools, you'll gain deep understanding and training in your chosen field while having the ability to explore research and coursework across the University.

Both graduate research and professional training have been part of UChicago's history from nearly the beginning. Our initial academic structure combined an English-style liberal arts education with a German-style approach to graduate research. Professional training came when our first president, William Rainey Harper, believed a great research institution should include the scholarly study of religion, both to prepare scholars for careers in training and research, and also to educate ministers for service to the church. As a result, the Divinity School became the first professional school at the University.

Today, the University of Chicago is organized by an Undergraduate College, four Graduate Divisions, six Professional Schools, and a school for continuing education. Explore our divisions and schools:

Graduate Divisions


Graduate Professional Schools


Continuing Education